The conference will take place from Sunday to Friday, 14 to 19 May, 2017.

On Sunday, 14 May, a student poster session will take place during delegate registration from 14:00 up to the Welcome Reception.

The conference will be opened on Monday, 15 May, 9:00 by welcome addresses from

  • Danish Minister for Higher Education and Science Søren Pind
  • Swedish State Secretary to the Minister for Higher Education and Research Karin Röding
  • Director General ESS John Womersley
  • OC Chair Gianluigi Arduini (CERN)
  • LOC Chair Mats Lindroos (ESS)


Sessions will begin Monday to Friday at 09:00 and finish at 18:00, with the exception of Friday, 19 May when the conference will finish at around 13:00.

Optical Cables
Photo: Sofia Sabel/